The Girl Who Fell cover

“...a fast-paced and highly cinematic read that’s perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Sarah J Maas.”

Books+Publishing

I am not the girl who fell.

I am the one who got
back up.

I am
Chess Raven.

I’m an orphan. A hacker.
I grew up with nothing and no one.
But it turns out my whole life has been a lie. There’s only one person I can trust — but even he is not what he seems.

The Girl Who Fell cover

In bookstores September 2018

The Girl Who Loved cover

Coming April 2019

The Girl Who Chose cover

Coming September 2019

Chess Raven

Hero. Villain. Weapon. Puppet.
Last Great Hope.

Tom Williams

Sworn healer who will kill for the one he loves.

First Officer Jules

Protectorate soldier. Loyal to a fault. Concealing a deadly secret.

Abby Williams

Apothecary. Unreliable in a fight. Holds a grudge.

the luck of edenhall

The Luck of Edenhall is a glass cup from the fourteenth century with a long history of mystery and superstition. It is currently held at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London but it once belonged to the Musgrave family of Edenhall in Cumberland, and was said to have brought them great luck.

According to The Fairy Mythology: Illustrative of the Romance and Superstition of various Countries, published in 1833, the cup was believed to be a sacred chalice which once belonged to fairies.

A butler from the Musgrave Estate came across a group of fairies with the chalice near St. Cuthbert's Well in the garden near the house. After a struggle, the butler stole the chalice from the fairies and the fairies flew away.

But not everyone is so sure.

According to an article published in The Gentleman’s Magazine in 1791, the butler didn’t steal the chalice; the fairies simply left it behind when they were startled. As the fairies flew away, they called out a warning to the butler:

“If this cup should break or fall
Farewell the Luck of Edenhall!”

Luckofedenhall
Lion and the Unicorn coat of arms

Unicorns in England

The Lion and the Unicorn are symbols of the royal coat of arms of the United Kingdom.

King James I added the unicorn to the royal coat of arms when he ascended the throne of England in 1603.

Officially, the unicorn on the coat of arms represents Scotland and the lion represents England.

That’s the official story, anyway.