they said I was the one.

they made me their queen.

the truth is
i was the last resort.

but i'm not done yet.

I am Chess Raven.

I am
the
girl
who
chose.

They said I was The One.
They made me their Queen.
The truth is, I was the last resort.
But I’m not done yet.
I am the one I’ve been waiting for.

The Girl Who Chose cover

“...a fast-paced and highly cinematic read that’s perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Sarah J Maas.”

Books+Publishing

“It had me in nail-biting, heart-wrenching, gasping for breath anticipation, and it still left me wanting the sequel as soon as possible.”

Jakob Andreasen, The Nerd Daily

“...it’s an inspiration and an uplifting page-turner.”

Monica Dullard, ABC774

“Never too dark, or too light. This YA fantasy ... a pure joy to read, even by a not so Young Adult.”

Ash Cooper, GoodReads

“Filled with fae, unicorns, family conflict and romance, there’s something X-Men crossed with A Darker Shade of Magic that sucked me in.”

Where The Books Go

I’m an orphan. A hacker.
I grew up with nothing and no one.
But it turns out my whole life has been a lie. There’s only one person I can trust — but even he is not what he seems.

Chess Raven

Hero. Villain. Weapon. Puppet.
Last Great Hope.

Tom Williams

Sworn healer who will kill for the one he loves.

First Officer Jules

Protectorate soldier. Loyal to a fault. Concealing a deadly secret.

Abby Williams

Apothecary. Unreliable in a fight. Holds a grudge.

Book club notes image.

Book club notes

Book club notes contain spoilers

GET YOUR BOOK CLUB NOTES.

the luck of edenhall

The Luck of Edenhall is a glass cup from the fourteenth century with a long history of mystery and superstition. It is currently held at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London but it once belonged to the Musgrave family of Edenhall in Cumberland, and was said to have brought them great luck.

According to The Fairy Mythology: Illustrative of the Romance and Superstition of various Countries, published in 1833, the cup was believed to be a sacred chalice which once belonged to fairies.

A butler from the Musgrave Estate came across a group of fairies with the chalice near St. Cuthbert's Well in the garden near the house. After a struggle, the butler stole the chalice from the fairies and the fairies flew away.

But not everyone is so sure.

According to an article published in The Gentleman’s Magazine in 1791, the butler didn’t steal the chalice; the fairies simply left it behind when they were startled. As the fairies flew away, they called out a warning to the butler:

“If this cup should break or fall
Farewell the Luck of Edenhall!”

Luckofedenhall
Lion and the Unicorn coat of arms

Unicorns in England

The Lion and the Unicorn are symbols of the royal coat of arms of the United Kingdom.

King James I added the unicorn to the royal coat of arms when he ascended the throne of England in 1603.

Officially, the unicorn on the coat of arms represents Scotland and the lion represents England.

That’s the official story, anyway.

Lion and the Unicorn coat of arms

About Violet Grace

Violet Grace is the pen name of wife-and-husband writing team Kasey Edwards and Christopher Scanlon.

Kasey spent over a decade climbing the corporate ladder as a management consultant until she woke up one morning and realised she didn’t want to go to work. Ever again. This inspired her to write her first book Thirty Something and Over It (Random House, 2009). After it become an international bestseller she decided to continue writing. She has now published four additional books: Thirty Something and The Clock is Ticking (Random House, 2011), OMG! That’s Not My Husband (Carlton Books, 2011), OMG! That’s Not My Child (Carlton books, 2011), Guilt Trip (Black Inc, May 2017)

Read by over 10 million people worldwide, she writes a weekly column for Nine Publishing’s Daily Life, and for other publications in Australia, the UK and US such as the Huffington Post, The Age, The Herald Sun, The Sydney Morning Herald, Grazia, the Daily Mail, Girlfriend Magazine and Best Magazine.

Christopher's work has been published in The Age, Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian, Courier-Mail, The Canberra Times, Crikey, Business Spectator, The Monthly, Overland and Arena Magazine.

He holds a PhD in Politics from Monash University and is currently Academic Director of Swinburne University of Technology’s Curriculum Accelerator.